University of Aberdeen win 25th Universities’ Boat Race against old rival RGU

University of Aberdeen beat Robert Gordons by a length to win the 25th Aberdeen Standard Investments’ Boat Race.

University of Aberdeen recorded a time of 08 minutes 03 seconds.  RGU recorded a time of 08 minutes and 06 seconds.

Aberdeen University crew, (Back left); Lena Kraft, India Dodd, Emily Carruthers, Adam Wilson, Andrew Dunse, (Front left); Dean Porter, Thomas Lloyd, Katie Sudgen (President), Alliott Irvine, Christy Cook

Robert Gordon’s did redeem themselves winning both the Second’s and Alumni races before the main event.

Check out more videos of the day including the main race and alumni starts at Harry Jamshid Reporter YouTube channel

The race

From the moment the blades hit the Dee on an overcast and blustery day in Aberdeen, AUBC took the lead and never relinquished it

Aberdeen Uni got a way quicker and developed a three lengths lead in the middle of the race but RGU reduced the gap to one by the time the teams went over the finish line at the Aberdeen Boat House.

RGU team take to the water


University of Aberdeen:
Lena Kraft, 21, Germany; Emily Carruthers, 20, Edinburgh; India Dodd, 21, Edinburgh; Thomas Lloyd, 18, Edinburgh; Dean Porter, 22, England; Andrew Dunse, 20, Dumfries; Christy Crook, 21, Inverness; Adam Wilson, 21, England; (Cox), Alliott Irvine, 20, England

AUBC President, Katie Sugden

Robert Gordon University
Antoine de Reviers, 21, Lyon; Michael Troy, 19, Hamilton; Benedek Gaál, 24, Hungary; Sarah Cameron, 19, Edinburgh; Lizzie Buchan, 20, Edinburgh; Abigail Topp, 18, Blackburn; Gregor Pittendreigh, 22, Aberdeen; Kate Jones, 34, England; (Cox), Sophie Telfer, 19, Kinross

RGU Boat Club president, Lizzie Buchan

The course

The race is contested from the Bridge of Dee to Aberdeen Boat house at a total distance of 3.5kms.  One of the fastest times in recent results is 07 minutes 03 seconds posted by University of Aberdeen in 2017.


The Aberdeen Universities’ Boat Race has been contested every year since 1996.  It’s the second oldest boat race in Scotland behind the Scottish Boat Race held between the universities of Edinburgh and Glasgow.

Aberdeen are ahead in the overall standings 17 to 8, their lead built on winning the first ten races of the competition.

RGU won their first race in 2006 and five on the bounce between 2012 and 2016.

More photos from the day

The trophy table at the boat race
Aberdeen Boat Houses
RGU won the novice race
BBC defeated Northsound in the media race
The start line at Bridge of Dee
Crowds gathered for the inaugural race
RGU also won the alumni race
Elbow pumps were the order of the day due to Covid-19 concerns

More Sport


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s